EAST Logo EAST Seminar 2021

2021 EAST Seminar Live Highlights

This summer, members of the EAST community were able to safely gather in person with over 100 facilitators at EAST Seminar 2021. Staff and educators spent three days networking and attending professional development breakout sessions at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Fort Smith, AR. During EAST Seminar, facilitators, staff and friends were given a platform to share innovative tools and exciting, new ideas with one another.

Despite the recent, unique challenges that our global and local communities have faced, EAST has worked hard to continue providing opportunities for growth and development. Although it is difficult to know exactly what the 2021-2022 school year has in store, we do know where we are headed. Next Stop: EAST.

EAST appreciates the time and efforts of the DoubleTree by Hilton staff, who graciously and enthusiastically welcomed our extended community into their backyard. We hope our EAST Seminar Live attendees had a blast and left Fort Smith ready to tackle the upcoming school year.

Service Recognition

We love recognizing great work - especially when everybody around knows just how much effort went into the job. We offer the biggest of congratulations to the facilitators who have served in EAST programs for 5 and 10 years. What an incredible display of dedication!

10 Year Recipients
  • Annette Smith - Mansfield High School
  • Paul Miller - Oaklawn Stem Magnet School
  • Josh Worthy - Sonora Elementary School
  • Jeff Risner - Joe T. Robinson High School (not pictured)
  • Catherine Holland - Mt. Vernon-Enola High School (not pictured)
5 Year Recipients
  • Kelly Martin - Ahlf Junior High School
  • Jake Cale - Bentonville West High School
  • Andrew Killingsworth - Berryville High School
  • Dorothy Ivey - Gentry Intermediate School
  • Allison Aday - Kiamichi Technology Centers - Eufaula High School
  • Rob Plant - Mineral Springs High School
  • Leeann Mobley - Morrilton Senior High School
  • Melissa Muse - Founders Classical Academies of Arkansas West Little Rock
  • Derek Ratchford - Sonora Middle School
  • Kevin Billings - Strong-Huttig Schools
  • Jared James - Greenland High School
  • Abigail Farrell - J.O. Kelly Middle School
  • Jennifer Hightower - Cedarville High School
  • Kelly Regan - Harrison High School Conversion Charter
  • Dennis Troutman - Little Rock Southwest High School
  • Joseph Alderman - Mountain Pine High School
  • Lynette Curzon - Westwood Elementary School
  • Allen Landry - Osceola High School
  • Zach James - Sylvan Hills High School
  • Elisa Kifer - Valley View Junior High School
  • Chuck Hollis - Crossett Middle School

Social Media

Are you following us on social media? A few people definitely are! Congratulations to the following winners, who were randomly chosen from qualified giveaway entries during the EAST Seminar.

  • Kevin Billings - Strong-Huttig Schools
  • Derek Ratchford - Sonora Middle School
  • Lori Campbell - Batesville High School
SU21 Photo Booth

Speaking of social media, have you heard that EAST is on TikTok? Be sure to add us to keep up with the fun!


#EASTseminar21 recap! We had an absolute blast catching up with our facilitators ⚡️#nextstop #nextstopeast #east #eastinitiative #summer

♬ sonido original - m a y i t a

Networking Events

Welcome Reception
SU21 Welcome Reception_Registration

We kicked off EAST Seminar 2021 with a welcome reception and pre-registration event at the hotel. On Tuesday evening, attendees were able to check in early and grab dinner while mingling with other facilitators. Participants also had the chance to play The Secret Networker, a game that encourages meeting as many new people as possible, for prizes.

The Bakery District

On the second evening, we regrouped at The Bakery District down the street. Facilitators enjoyed a delicious spread, provided by The DoubleTree, and competed for more prizes during Singo - a high-energy, music-based Bingo game.

Civil Axe Throwing

The final evening was full of friendly competition. Attendees divided into teams and spent the evening networking with each other and throwing axes. It seems like everyone had a great time.

Prize and Swag Bag Donors

Thanks to generous donations from the companies listed below, EAST was able to give away some really amazing prizes this year. Donations included gift baskets, gift cards, hotel stays, and even a pair of tickets to see the Jonas Brothers live in concert.

Photo 12 - SU21 Jonas Brothers Tickets

4imprint | Amazeum | Arkansas Innovation Hub | Bahama Belle Cuisine | Christine Gronwald | Cleo's Furniture | DJ's Auto Repair | E. Leigh's | Fort Smith Convention & Visitors Bureau | Good Eatin' | GSI (Gronwald Services, Inc.) | Little Rock Marriott | Lucky Lane Design | Mid America Science Museum | Nature Nate's Honey | Painting with a Twist (LR) | Rock Town River Outfitters | Soul Fish (LR) | Tacos 4 Life | U of A | Visit Rogers | Will Zee' Tidwell

Photo 13 - SU21 Prize Winners

Special Thanks

EAST Seminar 2021 could not have happened without the support and dedication of so many people. We would like to offer our sincerest thanks to the following individuals and organizations:

Photo 15 - SU21 FSCVB
Facilities & Evening Entertainment

Fort Smith Convention & Visitors Bureau | DoubleTree by Hilton Fort Smith City Center | The Bakery District | Challenge Entertainment | Civil Axe Throwing

Presenters, Exhibitors, Guests & Volunteers

Aaron David | Alicia Humbard | Amanda Wicker | Amy Bell | Anne Sargent | April Coats | Bill Mills | Brian Culpepper | Brice Smith | Brittany Berry | Cameron Magee | Carrie Beach | Chad Wicker | Charlie Feick | Christian Aqui | Christine Gronwald | Cori Hammond | Derek Ratchford | Donavon Thompson | Eldon Watkins | Erin Rappold | Fred Rickert | James Levisee | Jamie Stallings | Jason Blake | Jason Weaver | Jerry Harvey | Jerry Prince | Jessica Dunham | JJ Gladden | Jodi Keith | Jon Taylor | Josh Worthy | Jourdan Taylor | Kanesha'shay Barnes-Adams | Katrina Watkins | Kelly Martin | Lori Campbell | Madeline Chosich | Malcolm Williamson | Matt Dozier | Nicole Pena | Paul Miller | Rashan Stubbs | Rinda Hall | Robert Brisk | Rob Plant | Scott Rea | Thomas Maska | Tim Jacobson | Tim Stephenson | Tony Freeman | Troy DeBill